Thursday Quotables (the third)

Thursday Quotables is a weekly feature by Lisa at Bookshelf Fantasies. (Rules of participation are located on her blog, if you’d like to do your own Thursday Quotables post.) Basically, this feature is for any line or passage you read during the week that you really liked. It could be thoughtful, or funny, or beautifully written.

Sidenote: I may actually make this a biweekly feature here, as that seems t0 be the pattern I naturally fall into.

The quotes this week come from…

image2

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Amazon |Book Depository | Barnes & Noble

I am just now reading this tremendously popular volume (I think that at 599 pages, I can safely classify it as a volume). I am only about 150 pages in, but I already love this story! Actually, right now I’m kind of anxious; with another 444 pages left, what horrendous tragedies may befall my darlings?!!! Anyways, here are two of my favorite parts  (so far).

Kady Grant: I am frequently underestimated. I think it’s because I’m short.

There are so many funny and/or snarky moments in this book! But I especially love this one because, like Kady, I am vertically challenged.

image1
My apologies for the terrible photo quality, but I don’t have a scanner.

And I had to include Ezra’s “IM SORRY” rose- just because. It’s so pathetic and hilarious and precious all in one moment. (Did I mention I have a cousin named Ezra? I want him to read this book someday 🙂

That is all for now, readers. What’d you think of my quotes? If you’ve read this book, yay! Don’t give me any spoilers. *very serious glare* Ooh, and what do you think of my new Thursday Quotables picture? I’m not much of a coder (like, at all), but I love my photos! I wanted something that went better with the overall feel of my blog. I’m really happy with this image.

Bye! I’ll be back…when I feel like it. (#honestblogger)

5 thoughts on “Thursday Quotables (the third)

  1. This quote is my life! It pisses me off when people assume I can’t do something becaus I’m short. I’m still strong, I can still mange thank you very much.
    This is a cool feature you got going! I’ll have to check it out more often!:D

    Like

  2. This book sounds so fantastic. And the book itself is so beautiful. I always have the urge to caress it when I’m in stores. I hope to read it someday though. 🙂 Thanks for sharing the quote, Lish!

    And I noticed your bookish and blogging resolutions post and saw that you mentioned getting more titles approved from Netgalley. Good luck with that! I actually recently made a discussion post on requesting ARCs a few months ago. I’m not presuming that you need help or anything, but I compiled some helpful things about Netgalley; feel free to take a look if you’d like!

    Like

    1. Oh, sometimes I just like to flip through Illuminae to see all the beautiful pages. On the downside, it’s very heavy! Still an excellent read though.
      I did read/skim your discussion post and it was really helpful! I’ll probably go back and re-read it when I actually get on Netgalley. (I’m going to wait maybe another month or two, just to do more reviews, etc.) Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  3. I keep hearing how amazing this book is! A someone who’s also vertically challenge, I really liked that quote. I think I’ll need to read this sooner vs later, especially since I have a very important Ezra in my life and seeing the name makes me happy.

    Liked by 1 person

Have something to say?

