Books I Didn’t Finish in 2015

As we near the start of 2016, I decided to pay tribute to the books that I abandoned this year. Depriving them the honor of being read, I can still give a little publicity  (read: peace offering). I know most bookworms consider DNF-ing to be a negative thing, but I do it all the time. Much of this is due to the fact that I get almost all my reading material from the library.

This is a typical library visit for me: Goes into library, renews unfinished books, requests a book that’s unavailable, browses shelves, can’t resist the beauty, checks out 13 books, and takes another 4 from the free table.

By the next time I visit the library, I will have begun 75% of these books, and only finished 75% of the ones I began. This is not always because I didn’t enjoy a book; in fact, most of the time I just don’t have/make enough time to read everything I have. This is a list of (important for one reason or another) books that I did not finish in the year 2015.

 Abbreviations code:

CGI=couldn’t get into     TI=time issues

Middle of Series Slump

 

Series wall: When there’s that one book in a series that’s just so hard to hurdle

The Mark of Athena (#3) CGI

The Prophet of Yonwood (#3) CGI

The Death Cure (#3) CGI

Speaker for the Dead (#2) CGI and TI

Curtsies & Conspiracies (#2) CGI

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (#4) CGI

I know, I know, I’m a terrible person. But none of these books did it for me. With some, the previous books had already started to lose their appeal (Curtsies & Conspiracies and The Mark of Athena). Others were more of a surprise (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire-what! How did this happen?) . I will probably try all of these again in the future. Currently though, they are all residing on my unfinished GR shelf.

Classics

Mansfield Park CGI

Emma TI

The Hunchback of Notre Dame TI

Shakespeare Stories TI

I listened to Pride and Prejudice on audiobook, so after finishing, I thought it’d be worth it to try listening to more Austen. Mmmmmm, wrong. I absolutely did not care about anyone in Mansfield Park, and while I enjoyed Emma, other books took precedence and I never completed it. I did really enjoy Shakespeare Stories (a collection of Shakespeare’s works rewritten with a more modern phraseology), but, as with Emma, it wasn’t important enough for me to really stick with it.

Books I Really Couldn’t Get Into

Out of the Silent Planet CGI and some TI

The Eye of Minds CGI

The Lost Art of Reading CGI

The Book of Lost Things CGI

I was addicted to The Chronicles of Narnia when I was younger, but OOTSP was much harder to slip into. Dashner walks a tightrope with me; either I have to know the ending to his stories or everything is nonsensical and I can’t continue. I think I tried reading or listening to The Book of Lost Things at least three times this year, and I could never get past chapter four. Lastly, I couldn’t resist the irony of putting The Lost Art of Reading on a did not finish list.

How do you feel about leaving a book unfinished? Have you hit the series wall before, and are these series worth continuing? Thank you for reading, and I should be back before the 31st with a full 2015 recap.

One thought on “Books I Didn’t Finish in 2015

  1. I sooo struggled with Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire too. AGH. I felt like it was massively boring?!? The Half Blood Prince is a lot better though…hehe. And I really like them an audio! I was struggling so much and then a friend is like “LISTEN TO AUDIO” so I did and omg…so much better. I got through them really fast. ;D
    I hear ya with not having enough time to read all the books! And me + the library = coming home with way more books than I can read. XD I have to put myself on frequent library bans!
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

Have something to say?

